Evidence for the Existence of the Soul

“2012 – JP Moreland speaks on the case for the existence of the soul. Is man just matter and motion? Is man just his brain and physical body? Is there a soul?”

An extremely interesting and thought provoking talk. If you are not a Christian, please don’t be put off watching this film because the speaker is a Christian and talks about some of the points from a Christian point of view because he sets out in a very scientific way using scientific reasoning alongside Christian belief.

If you look at this talk and set aside the Christian beliefs that run alongside it – it will still offer you an extremely thought provoking tool in viewing how the soul can possibly be an entirely separate thing to the physical body and the brain.

If you have Christian beliefs, if you have Buddhist beliefs, if you have Hindu or Islamic or Jewish or entirely no religious beliefs – it is in fact irrelevant to the points that are laid out before the “consciously” thinking “person” that is watching this film. And so I am posting this film on this site and on my “Time Traveller’s United” site because it is a subject that is relevant – I believe – for science, philosophy, spirituality and metaphysics – and could be an extremely good starting point for scientific or philosophical discussion, creative writings or personal spiritual enlightenment. So with that said I will leave you to watch and digest this very interesting talk on the evidence for the existence of the soul.

5 thoughts on “Evidence for the Existence of the Soul

  1. Reblogged this on <3……….Laura Crean………..<3 and commented:
    “2012 – JP Moreland speaks on the case for the existence of the soul. Is man just matter and motion? Is man just his brain and physical body? Is there a soul?”

    An extremely interesting and thought provoking talk. If you are not a Christian, please don’t be put off watching this film because the speaker is a Christian and talks about some of the points from a Christian point of view because he sets out in a very scientific way using scientific reasoning alongside Christian belief.

    If you look at this talk and set aside the Christian beliefs that run alongside it – it will still offer you an extremely thought provoking tool in viewing how the soul can possibly be an entirely separate thing to the physical body and the brain.

    If you have Christian beliefs, if you have Buddhist beliefs, if you have Hindu or Islamic or Jewish or entirely no religious beliefs – it is in fact irrelevant to the points that are laid out before the “consciously” thinking “person” that is watching this film. And so I am posting this film on this site and on my “Well in the Garden” and “Time Traveller’s United” sites because it is a subject that is relevant – I believe – for science, philosophy, spirituality and metaphysics – and could be an extremely good starting point for scientific or philosophical discussion, creative writings or personal spiritual enlightenment. So with that said I will leave you to watch and digest this very interesting talk on the evidence for the existence of the soul.

  2. Hello Laura
    I hope this finds you well. I know these past few days haven’t been easy.
    You and your Mother (Mum) and family have been in my prayers.

    I’m unable to hear anything on this pc (personal computer) right now, so I am just commenting on what you wrote & what I know to be True and Truth.
    But I will have to “hold my tongue” as there are folks watching me as we speak..not delusional nor do I have any paranoia.
    To let you know my personal Creed
    I do not fear God
    I do not fear hell
    I do not fear fear
    & I certainly do not fear you
    Why would I fear PURE LOVE?

    (this is how OUR creator made me (fearless)…that’s what He\She Loves about me…who am I to go against His\Her Wisdom? ..and perfection? I could go on 😉
    It took me 50 yrs to figure that out 🙂 .so many “little” stories\side notes so I am leaving very much out..say 99.9%

    Creed; the “you” is in reference to society more than anything please don’t take this personal 🙂

    & yes this probably will sound a little, if not very strange to some, But I don’t make this stuff up. I exist in somewhat of a “supernatural” realm…see already sounding a bit strange..trust me I know how this sounds.

    All my life very strange “things” have happened to me, to those around, and even from within me..k very much from within me. But also and mostly from external “source(s)”. hmm source\ress 😉 in spirit = inspired …..

    hmmm where to begin…how about Feb\March 2012, just some very brief words on some very deep subjects and has only gotten stronger since then…

    Just a quick side note.All of US are not just “single faceted” gems… perspective\our own “realities” change and can change very quickly even..Am I not telling the Truth yet..lemme know k? 🙂

    One more little item before I share with all of you what I’m about to share…landed me in the local crazy clinic also last Easter 2012 (compliments of a few out of state siblings and one sibling’s spouse) trust me I wish I made this stuff up! But again getting off track heh (another time another story)

    (little item ref)
    I am not a religious Human Being by any means other than I do believe in all of them, k most in a sense, so to speak, it is all the same God. When we realize this a a whole Human race things will be a little more…. peaceful…it is said that “God has many faces”..not correct in the sense that say if infinity = many =false
    “God Has ALL Faces” .. I recently saw “the Life of Pi” the “Being” that wrote that is awake… I and some of you are not alone 😉 k..that didn’t come out right..none of Us are alone 🙂

    Spring 2012.. I brought or with our creator, below a whisper, is the best way to describe this; as when I threw this dead and had been dead for hours rodent, ground squirrel to be precise..was stiff from rigor mortise (details some other time (ALL things In TIME))
    It bounced a few inches in the air before hitting the ground again…
    Bren’ my angel on Earth & my wonderful Son Caleb River witnessed this as TMALSS = to make a long story short
    as this lifeless body was animated again as it’s soul returned with what should have been w\much pain but was painless, into that cold, stiff body…

    I don’t ask my Son anymore as to what that was..”Dad it was a miracle” I am a, if not the biggest or was the biggest skeptic of all.
    I don’t try and debunk myself any longer

    Bren’ also believes this was a miracle.

    I KNOW exactly what it was\is..it was gift from our Creator, to let me know that
    1.) I wasn’t going crazy
    2.) What was happening to me wasn’t “evil” I repeat and update this..It Is NOT “evil”, for that kind of “energy” doesn’t have the power to bring Life back 🙂 …nor do I

    On a different but similar level
    This was this family’s personal miracle
    1.) to Show my Son that his father wasn’t any of the above
    2.) To show Bren the same..and to have Faith 🙂
    …i was driving my soul mate a little crazy as for almost 2 months I could only speak in parables …then after, in tongues, which I didn’t know what that was till I started reading the new testament in solitaire confinement summer 2012.

    You can chose to believe this or not, not that I don’t care.
    It just boils down to this.. I have Died three times…all 3 of those experiences were\are real.. My Mom got physically pushed back in the room where I lay dead on the couch & was told she said yrs later to “Wake that boy up!!”
    …she tried as usual and could not before she left to go to work, she did not make it to work on that day, needless to say..this I have no problem in telling this as it is not my “story” it is her’s, she told my siblings back in the 70’s.. I was not alive, I didn’t “wake up” for almost 2 weeks in the hospital..again a whole other “story”

    Which btw way just for protection I claim this all as fiction
    but my point is this..Have Faith folks..it’s real..it does exist no matter what name.. I do KNOW that J.C. walked this Earth…I tell him I get tired of just seeing his pictures and would like to see him personally on this Earth again
    PS God loves scientist, comedians, atheists, the gay community, etc. He\she does not love falseness i.e. some believe, my theologian\minister brother included (God Bless Him) , that everything in the Bible was written by the Hand of God..only in the sense that he is all things..but I am among other things a messenger as well and I know certain truths…& there many untruths in the Bible..’tis sad but True.
    It is not my intent to get anyone upset.. If I did for that I apologize. Please don’t mistake this for an apology for anything I have written today 🙂

    PEACE&LOVE
    LOVE MORE

    Sincerely,
    R.Clyde Ericson & Family 🙂

    • First of all R.Clyde Ericson – I DO NOT think you are crazy! I DO NOT judge any other’s personal experiences because believe me – I’ve had some pretty amazing, wonderful, confusing, (I call them spiritual and paranormal) experiences in my life ever since I was a baby (yes I did say baby – I do remember such things). I too have spent years in conflict about certain experiences and I have looked into ALL religions on this Earth and decided now that they are ALL valid, even the nutty ones – BUT – they are NOT all THE ONLY WAY – they are only paths to waking up the spirit to questions. Questioning, in all its forms, through religions, science, philosophy, fantasy, imagination, dreams, paranormal experience are the only ways to gaining IN-SIGHT.

      I’m not going to lie, I found a lot of your post hard to understand – that is ONLY because we are from different places in space and time. I feel there is still a lot of confusion in your ‘questioning phase’ but also that you are in what I call the AWE stage. You have had experiences, some call them miracles and they have activated your IN-SIGHT which has sent you reeling! I had an amazing time in that stage of AWE – and I think that stage often never leaves you when you experience God in whatever way God has chosen to awaken you. but, because we ALL experience our existence in this universe in our own individual and unique ways we will ALL experience it differently. Yes many find similarities in their experiences and begin to relate to others on the same path – this is when you find fellowship in a ‘group’ – this can be any religion or science or ‘belief set’ and that is when you can begin to question reality together (like we are doing right now!).

      And one person can find many individuals all on different points in their awakening and coming at their own beliefs from different directions and possibly different religions and maybe just ONE thing from each of those people will send you reeling – one TRUTH as it were. My advice is – truth comes in many guises just as God has many faces – it all means the same thing to your in-sight! Never preach to others that any of your truths are THE TRUTH because for them they may not be and your truths may lead them to find a better truth (for them). I may sound confused now and I’ve been told I am odd, I am deluded, I have mental health issues LOL and who knows – maybe that is all true – but it still does not take away from the fact that whatever an individual experiences IS that person’s REALITY.

      What is reality? What is the soul? What is God? What are the processes in our brains that ‘do’ all this experiencing – are we just biological machines with the accidental side effect of ‘experiencing self-awareness’ that leads to us labelling such things as the soul, the spirit, heaven, angels, aliens, God or gods or goddesses? Are the senses just mechanical? Or is there more to it than that? Are our senses linked to the ‘unseen’, not yet understood realms that I call “The Space Between the Universes” ? –

      http://lauracrean.wordpress.com/category/space-between-the-universes/

      MORE questions and they will lead to MORE questions and each of us must spend our lives asking and trying to answer our own questions in our own way and come up with our own answers without imposing our TRUTHS as FACTS – that is my personal opinion. To me, every belief, every scientific theory, every religious lesson is just one more link in a chain which may or may not lead to an awakening in an individual. I am fascinated by each person’s journey – I am fascinated with YOUR journey and I am glad that our paths have crossed and we can express our experiences, exchange truths and continue on our journeys with more questions and another’s ‘story’ to add to life’s mix.

      If I have made sense to you then I am glad – if I have led you to question my sanity then I am glad – and if I have made you smile and nod your head and ignited more questions in your ‘soul’ then I am really, genuinely happy.

      Love, Light and blessings

      ❤ Xx Laura – AKA The Sorceress 😉 xX ❤

Leave a Reply

