Daughter – by Jean Reinhardt

Daughter

Small and bossy, like a little fairy
Shouting crossly, you make me want to laugh
At your display of temper, but I manage, barely
To keep a straight face, and let you vent
The days frustrations and dismays.
I finally win the battle of the nightie.
Over your soft, blonde hair it goes.
You stamp out of the room to bed,
But then, the door, it opens just a crack
And through it I can see your little head.
A moment later you are running back.
Around my neck two sturdy arms are thrown
You kiss me soft and hug me like a bear.
”Mommy, you say sorry, then I’ll go.”
I take your hand and we both climb the stairs.

© 2013 Jean Reinhardt

Leave a Reply

