The Future of the Human Race?

The Future of the Human Race?

painting ‘Martian Dream’ by Laura Crean

(taken from my book of poetry and prose entitled ‘Vision’ coming soon,)

Last night I dreamt I was driving down
a motorway that leads to town,
but then I took a lonely road
into the hills the image showed.
The scenery began to change,
before my eyes a sight so strange,
A hospital of many buildings
filled with children and of changelings.
The staff were pleasant and polite
they worked on into the dead of night,
but all the babies who were ill
grew to be children and stayed there still.
A grieving mother every day
made the trip and tried to stay
by her baby’s bedside always
where she would sing the doctors’ praises.
But then one day the world grew colder,
the baby girl was growing older
and still she couldn’t take her home
even though her health had grown.
The girl was clever and so pretty,
the mother thought it such a pity
and tried to find out what was wrong,
she found a corridor so long.
At last she came across a sight
that made her sick and she took flight,
A factory of zombie robots
with metallic spines being built like products.
A zombie doctor found her on a stair
and told her she must cut her hair,
the woman smiled and tried to lie
and said that she would surely try.
Grabbing her child she ran away
back to the sprawling motorway,
where nobody seemed to chase her down
so she headed onwards into town.
And then the dream began to shine
and I was showed the longest line
of babies and of children too
being blessed by Jesus and passing through
into heaven they were filing
and Jesus just watched them all just smiling.
He looked at me and laughed in joy
and waved at me as he kissed a boy.
My dream then faded and I awoke
and on my tears I tried not to choke.

© 2013 Laura Crean

2 thoughts on “The Future of the Human Race?

Leave a Reply

